For those of you not in the know, I have anxiety issues.  However, after today, I no longer see it as anxiety, I see it as forewarning.  A sixth sense that has kept me and my family from mortal injury.

Take the red truck.  It scared me to death.  I screeched through two red lights before my warnings were heeded.  They fixed the brakes and asked for my approval.  Smart men.  I drove a very small amount and said-“Nope!  Brakes still scare me.”  At that point they thought I was nuts until they encountered a braking problem of their own.  The brakes are now fixed.

So tonight, I apprehensively drove the white truck to town to watch a movie because we were going to get some concrete.  I told myself I was overreacting and that I had to get used to the vehicle (I don’t like it because it has WAY too much play in the steering for my comfort.)  It started to rain, annoying us that we wasted precious gas and time when we could have just driven the car, for we could no longer haul bags of concrete in the rain in the back of a truck.  We therefore went to the movie and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

We came out and started the truck, “It acts like it’s having a hard time turning over, like the battery’s low”.  And that was when we heard a ticaticaticatica.  “Should we drive home?”

“I think it’s a UV joint.”

“It is not a UV joint.  UV joints go whackawhacka in turns, not ticatica at red lights.”

This…discussion…continued all the way to our mailbox.  We called dad to ensure he knew of the problem ahead of time and to call us in 30 minutes to make sure we were going well still.  We called again when we hit our road.  We pulled up to the mailbox and heard TICATICATICA SNAP!! BING WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

I terrifyingly turned the truck off and smelled burning.  I assumed we threw a rod.  “Get out!  Everyone out of the truck NOW!”

We walked over to the other side of the road and called dad who came down the drive to pick us up.  (For those not in the know, our driveway is half a mile long.  We have no lights either.  That’s great, but we also have mountain lions, bears, coyotes, and wild boars.)  It was way too dark to walk without a flashlight.  We stayed in the light of the neighbor’s house waiting until we felt safe enough to return to the vehicle.

“You’re worth more dead than I am, you go.”

“Feel the love.”

We rolled the windows up, got everything needed out, and waited for dad.  He started the truck, Arlis saw flames at the alternator, and dad shut it off quicker than I’ve ever seen him do anything.  They push it out of the way, we drive home in dad’s truck, thanking God constantly for our protection from harm and perfect timing.

“I’m never riding in a car again!”

“Dad, would you explain to Marcus the inner workings of a car so he’ll understand what’s going on and calm down?  I’m going to go have a panic attack and eat a chocolate cake.  I’ll see you in the morning.”

