I’m going to start my recipe series with my most used, the pizza dough.  This can be used for all my pizza recipes, and therefore (if I know what I’m doing) will be linked to often.  I currently use a mixer, although you are more than welcome to do it by hand.  I don’t want to admit it, but the mixer usually gives you a better result and is certainly faster.

make your own pizza dough

  • 1c warm water
  • 1 pkg or 2t yeast
  • sugar
  • salt
  • olive oil
  • all purpose or bread flour of choice

       So, I have the recipe memorized, I don’t always measure things, and it turns out great every time.  Add the water and yeast together.  (The jar always says to add more than 2tsp, but I always just add 2 and do just fine.  You make your own choice, or course.)  At this point, I just take a spoonful of sugar and add it.  Sometimes I just grab some with my fingers, but if you’re a stickler for precision, use 1 tsp the first time you do it.

       This is the most important part.  Do NOT add any salt or oil until I tell you to.  I have ruined this by adding the salt and/or oil too early, killing the yeast in the process.  So, let’s add a little flour to this, a good handful or half a cup.  Now, once it’s mixed enough to be a batter, adding more flour if necessary, you can add the salt.  I would start with 1/2 tsp and add more the next time if you feel it necessary.  Bear in mind what you will be topping it with.  Add the oil.  Start with 1/3 cup.  Olive oil is essential for good flavor and texture.  Do not use vegetable oil of any sort.  Too much oil or too little, and it doesn’t turn out well at all.  I have found this recipe to perform better with more than less.

       Now, add enough flour that it will incorporate it all in the dough without sticking to the sides, and without flour all over the bowl not getting absorbed.  Once the dough has formed a pretty little ball, it’s time to knead.  If the ball is too hard, there’s too much flour.  There’s nothing you can do about it now, but remember it for next time.  (Don’t worry, it will do just fine this time.  Don’t throw it out.)  Knead in the mixer for two minutes, or by hand for 8.  Leave it alone to rise in the bowl covered until it doubles in size.  This takes about two hours.

       After it has doubled, flour up your rolling area/pan and roller.  Roll it out and let rise on the pan until the desired height.  You want to let it rest at least 15 minutes even for a thin crust.  But a thick crust will want much longer, over an hour, sometimes two.  Now, each recipe will differ, but for the most part, bake at 425 for 10 minutes, and then add the toppings.  Bake the toppings according to the recipe.  Please visit my recipe section for more pizza recipes.

