I have been told that duck eggs make the best cakes.  That’s no lie!   I have not tried this recipe with chicken eggs, so I can’t vouch for those results.  My duck egg cake is great for cutting calories while enjoying a treat.  There’s far less sugar than modern cakes, and it’s full of great ingredients instead of fillers.  It doesn’t go hard as easily as most other cakes, and it doesn’t fall apart as easily when cut.  I hope you enjoy and send me your pictures!

*NOTE:  I have made this without separating the eggs and just putting in 4 whole eggs.  This makes a much fluffier cake, but it is no where near as filling and therefore not something to eat while dieting.  The separate egg method is great for cakes you wish to cut/sculpt as it is firmer and not as crumbly.

ingredients

  • 1c butter
  • 2c sugar
  • 4 duck eggs, separated
  • 3c flour
  • 1/4t salt
  • 3t baking powder
  • 1c milk
  • 1t vanilla

Grease a rectangular cake pan, and preheat your oven to 350

P4081440

Cream the butter and sugar together.

Add the yolks, one at a time until completely incorporated.  Alternate adding dry ingredients with the milk until everything is fully mixed.  The batter will be thick.  Don’t worry, trust me on this.

Now, beat the egg whites until stiff.

egg whites

Gently fold the batter and egg whites together until completely mingled….mingled?  Yes, mingled.  Let your food mingle.  Throw on some music, serve a few drinks, pass the bowl of keys and….oh, sorry.  Below you see a picture of not-quite-mingled batter.  This batter is thick, and this part is tiring, for me anyway.  Maybe I’m a wuss.

P4081444

Pour into your pan, pulling the batter to the corners.  The middle will grow tall, so you want the corners higher going in.

P4081446

Bake on your lower rack for 45 minutes.  You want the majority of the heat to come from the bottom.  Use the toothpick method to check for doneness.  You may think it will burn.  I’ve never burned one yet, and I am the queen of kitchen screw-ups.  It’s fine, breathe, all will be ok.  You’re in a happy place….you’re…DING!  OK, good, now it’s done.

This is how it should look.  Be sure you use a toothpick or similar method!

cooked cake

Invert and release!  Tah-dah!

cake

I use this a lot without icing as a treat, etc.

