Pick your choice spelling of Channukah and insert above.

So, we went out today, which I hate doing this time of year, and made some people pretty mad.  Why?  Because we wished them a Happy Hannukah.  We celebrate Chanukkah, not Christmas.  And every year we are bombarded by people declaring Christmas for their God, whether it is or not.

We walk into a store with signs and lights and red people swinging bells screaming at us “Merry Christmas” as loud as they can in complete defiance of anyone who walks by.  Most people ignore them.  Some throw money at them, and then you get the few angry ones that say LOUDLY, “Thank you so much for saying ‘Merry Christmas.’  I think it’s awful how some people get offended over everything.”  Oh really?

The first stop we came to was the bakery.  The people there usually say nothing to you, ever.  They take your bread, ring your bread, take your money, hand you your bread.  You’re lucky to get a response to your “thank you” when you leave.  That’s not a problem for me.  But today, they were screaming, yes screaming, “Merry Christmas” as many times as they could to every person in line.  This is in rebellion to some stores’ policies of “Happy holidays.”

Today is the 22nd.  It is the seventh night of Hanukkah.  It is not Christmas.  It is not Christmas Eve.  Granted, I wasn’t wearing my necklace, but I doubt it would have mattered.  So when I was screamed at, I said, “And you have a happy Hanukkah!”  They were not happy.  One would say they were down right offended.  Hmm…  They probably thought I was being smart, and I was.  I should have just ignored them and gone on.  But technically, I was in the right.

So then we went to walmart (yes, walmart-judge me later) where we were attacked by a red person with a bell.  Again, her agenda was as mentioned before, and we would have felt attacked no matter what she yelled because she wanted money.  It’s like passing by the Girl Scouts.  When we left, we were screamed a “Merry Christmas!”  I nicely said, “Happy Hannukah.” back.  She got mad!  I doubt she knew it was Hannukah.  And no, I shouldn’t have done it then either.  I should have just ignored her, maybe even rolled my eyes, but I didn’t.  I’m sorry.

So, why do I hate christmas so much?

I don’t.

If you are a pagan celebrating Yule, go for it.  I’ll even wish you a happy Yule Tide.  But taking someone else’s holiday and slapping a sticker with your God’s name on it does not make it His holiday.  In fact Deuteronomy 12 is pretty much full of “don’t do this”.

Verse 30:  Guard yourself that you are not ensnared to follow them, after they are destroyed from before you, and that you do not inquire about their mighty ones, saying, “How did these nations serve their mighty ones?  And let me do so too.”

Verse 31: Do not do so to YHVH your Elohim, for every abomination which YHVH hates they have done to their mighty ones, for they even burn their sons and daughters in the fire to their mighty ones.

In other words, don’t worship God the way other religions worship their god.  It’s that simple.  So, several hundred years ago, like, over 1000, the Saxons started converting to Christianity whether by choice or force.  They didn’t want to change their traditions, so they slapped a different name on it and changed nothing else.  Well…

Mark 7:7-9 “And in vain do they worship Me, teaching as teachings the commands of men.  Forsaking the command of Elohim, you hold fast the tradition of men.”  And He said to them, “Well do you set aside the command of Elohim, in order to guard your tradition.”

Seems pretty clear and cut to me.  Giving up christmas was harder than the other pagan holiday of easter for me.  Mainly because of family.  Everyone expects you to give them a gift, and they’re going to give you one, so you better do it.  But I did it, and I have raised our son without a single pagan holiday in our God’s name.  My husband even converted after several years of marriage.  He fought hard those years.  He knew he needed to change and didn’t want to.  It’s easier for him now.

Most people know the truth about the pagan holidays, but they don’t care.  They want to celebrate it, so they do, slapping a bigger and bolder sticker on it every year hoping it will change what it cannot.  They will continue to put their traditions and desires over God’s forever I guess.  But that’s their problem, not mine.  I just wish they’d stop trying to convince themselves that it’s OK.  Because the more they try to, the more annoying it is to those of us around them getting screamed at.

So the next time you hear “Jesus is the reason for the season”, you’ll know I’m wanting to tell them to save it for Passover, because that’s when He was crucified.  Messiah had nothing to do with christmas, and never will.  When they say “I’m keeping the Christ in CHRISTmas,” they’re only showing their vast ignorance and choice of their own desires over God’s.  I just shake my head and keep walking.

