I’m so excited! One of my favorite authors, Miss Shelby Bach, is letting me blogview her.  Whoa, “blogview”, that’s new. I just made a new word. Quick, make it viral!

I originally got into her writing from the Knoxville library. I then read up on her original blog, and then the new one. Her blog taught me more about the writing business than anything else. It was greatly inspiring, so I view this blogview as a real honor.

Back to her books. The Ever After Series –

(not to be confused with the Ever After High series that came out later) has a NEW BOOK coming out!!! Of Enemies and Endings.


It is the fourth and final book of the series, and here’s what she has to say about it.

 

ME: Thank you for letting me do this, Shelby.  This is really exciting for me!

SHELBY:  Of course, Debby! I would be happy to do an author interview with you. And thank you for asking!

ME: So what can you tell us about the last Ever Afters, Of Enemies and Endings?

SHELBY: Five things come to mind:

  1. It’s the longest book in the series, and it was probably the hardest to write. It also may be my favorite book I’ve written so far.
  2. It has some of the saddest and the happiest moments in the series, so be prepared.
  3. The story begins the day before Rory’s fourteenth birthday.
  4. It doesn’t have an epilogue, but the last chapter contains strong hints about what happens after the novel ends.
  5. I hope everyone likes it!

ME: When is it set to release?

SHELBY: June 30, 2015! Pub day is sneaking up on me. 🙂

ME: I read that the title for your last book was actually made by a fan.  Are any of your other books titled that way, or just the one?  Do you plan to implement that in any future writings?

SHELBY: No, Of Enemies and Endings is the only book named by a reader…so far. I would totally be open to a reader naming the book again though!

ME: How did that come about anyway?

SHELBY: It happened pretty organically. Soon after I announced the title for Of Sorcery and Snow, a few readers started guessing what Book 4 might be called on my website’s discussion boards. I read them, loved them, and send them on to my editor when it was time to name the last book—along with a few I’d brainstormed on my own. Of Enemies and Endings was the one everyone at S&S liked the most! 🙂

ME: I also read that you actually wrote several novels before Of Giants and Ice.  Can you tell us about those?  Were they good practice, or do you think you’ll ever try and publish one?

SHELBY: I did! I can’t see myself trying to publish them, so those seven novels are just good practice. But I often steal ideas from the writing I did in my youth. For example, I started a Sleeping Beauty retelling in middle school. I never finished it, but I recycled the premise and used it in Of Enemies and Endings. So, all that practice is also a good resource. 🙂

ME: What do you plan to do now that The Ever Afters are over?  Any future books in the making?

SHELBY: I’ll definitely write more books, but I don’t currently have any manuscripts in the works. The Ever Afters series was a project that lasted five and a half years, and it took up a lot of real estate in my mind. For the past few months, I’ve been in an exploring mood—both reading-wise and writing-wise.

ME: What would you have done if Of Giants and Ice didn’t get published?  Would you have self-published?  Given up?  Got a full-time job and written on the weekends?

SHELBY: If no publishers were interested in Of Giants and Ice, I probably would have shelved the project, written a new manuscript, and tried again. (I knew early on that I’m not good enough at self-promotion to try self-publishing.) But later, I probably would have revised OG&I and resubmitted it. In college, I learned this awesome story about the power of rewriting: Jane Austen originally wrote both Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice in her late teens. They weren’t published until she reworked them roughly a decade after she finished the first draft, and now, two hundreds years later, they’re classics—both in book and film formats.

ME: Is there anything else you want to tell your fans?

SHELBY: Thank you so much for reading and supporting The Ever Afters series!! Of Enemies and Endings was a tough book, and I don’t think I could have finished it without your enthusiasm and all-around awesomeness. You’re the best!

ME:  Thank you so much, Shelby.  This has been a real treat.  🙂

So there you have it folks! If you haven’t tried Of Giants and Ice yet, then you definitely need to. You can purchase both paper and electronic form from Amazon below, or visit your local bookstore. And of course, check your local library.

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=theburfar-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=1442431474&asins=1442431474&linkId=J43WESFSPL6PRNJ2&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true //ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=theburfar-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=1442431504&asins=1442431504&linkId=6NUGIM3FLEAPAAMO&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=theburfar-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=144249784X&asins=144249784X&linkId=JS6TRIZGM4Q3RKMK&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

You can also pre-order Of Enemies and Endings here:

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=theburfar-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=1442497874&asins=1442497874&linkId=E4G3FT3LXFDEPE5P&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

