Behind, as usual, I’m finally getting this post on here. You can thank a friend who recently visited and wanted the recipe. So here goes.

Tzimmes:

  • 1c chopped onion
  • 2lb sweet potatoes
  • 3/4c chopped dates
  • 1 1/2t cinnamon
  • 1/2t salt
  • 3 large carrots, sliced
  • 1 large apple or pear, chopped
  • 1/2c orange juice
  • 1/2t ginger
  • 1/2c walnuts or pecans, chopped

Peel and chop the sweet potatoes and boil until tender. Saute the onions and carrots and then mix everything together. Bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes. Bear in mind, if the dish is shallow, you will bake for a shorter amount of time. Most tzimmes recipes have prunes in them. If you want to add prunes to yours, feel free, but I suggest you schedule an appointment with your therapist immediately afterwards.

picQdGGKj

(I do apologize for the picture. I thought I had pictures of when I made it, but apparently I was wrong. So I got this picture off of another site.)

 

