Yes, yes – we’ve all seen your cute videos of pet raccoons and what wonderful creatures they make. Well let me show you how they treat me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See that? That’s what my lettuce/herb bed looks like AFTER I cleaned it up (OK, to be fair I didn’t put the labels back in place – what was the point?)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It yanked my poor little plants from their perfectly composted (2 year old chicken manure) home and threw them around the inside of the freezer/bed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It them ripped them to shreds. Here are the leaves I had to throw on the ground because it – the demon spawned creature – decided they didn’t need to be attached to their fellow brethren anymore.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see, what I was able to salvage may or may not make it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did still have a few plants left in their seedtrays. I planted those in the garden today. While knowing full well they may be destroyed this night, I really didn’t see another option.

This is not a good start for what I have already worked so hard to make a good year.

