I recently had a discussion with some people about “odd” flavors mixed with chocolates. I didn’t find them the least bit odd, but then again, I live an hour away from the Russel Stover’s factory. In fact, my husband used to work there. So, I decided now would be a good time to show others a little bit about what it’s like.

Here’s what we picked up from the store next to their factory.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Its hours are pretty average, and the store is clean and well organized.

The first thing that always happens is that they hand out a sample. It’s been different every time we went, but it’s not like we went every day or anything, so I have no idea how often they change what it is. This time, it was a Pecan Crown, and it was good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
We bought several goodies we hadn’t tried before. Most were left over Valentine’s candy cut by 50% or more in the price.

One was, the mint dream. I don’t recommend. The taste was OK, but the texture was like a giant melted marshmallow and really, really gross.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Arlis got this one, and it smelled and tasted exactly like Strawberry Nesquick. Too sweet for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Below we have a “wedding cake” goodie and a raspberry filled dark chocolate goodie.

A-totally get the raspberry. Yum!

B-Run! from the wedding cake. I kid you not, it smells and tastes like vomit. Most of that goodie resides in the kitchen trash. Yuck!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The strawberry cream was pretty good, a lot like the raspberry, just a different flavor. The red velvet, however, was just like the wedding cake. Don’t even pick it up folks. I spit my bite out. I did NOT want to go through that again!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
And finally, the blooper box. Arlis worked QC when he was there, which meant that any product not up to snuff got thrown into the blooper bin. You can get that stuff for real cheap. I know it say $12.99, but we paid $7.99. The cheaper boxed have passed their “best buy” date, the others have not.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
As you can see, they’re all just thrown in there, and you never know what you’re gonna get (it’s sealed before purchase). But it’s 3 pounds for $7.99, and kinda fun. Like an adventure. Now, first of all, the white coloring is because it’s old. You know how chocolate does. Secondly, I don’t know if it was the age or the oops factor, but it didn’t taste like I thought it should. Don’t get me wrong, it tasted good, just … different. Unfortunately, ours wound up being mostly coconut and chews. Ew. But there were a few caramels and vanilla creams (I’ll be honest, I’m guess it was supposed to be vanilla cream. Like I said, the flavor was different. Good, but different.)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So there you have if folks! If you ever want to visit Russel Stover’s just head on to Algood, TN. The factory is right off 111 and real easy to get to, little traffic, and a nice place to visit. I used to live and work in Algood, and I liked it.

