We’ve all done it. A new job, and new baby. Something BIG to add to your schedule, all at once.

I recently started back to school. I currently go to a campus an hour away every Monday-Friday. Prior to this, I was writing 2000 words a day on book 3 of the Cupolian Series and spending the rest of my time marketing, networking, and working on other books/stories/projects. By five o’clock, I was finally able to spend time with my family and do household chores.

And then…

I went back to school. I am only taking one class, but it’s not an easy one. It’s also crammed into just five weeks. I will continue this type of schedule all summer. I knew it was more important than my writing, and I knew I had to reschedule my life. And I wasn’t looking forward to it. I had finally gotten my writing time, something I had been looking forward to for months, years even, when this came up.

Oddly, it’s working, and here’s my secret. (This applies to adding one big thing to your already busy schedule)

Don’t try to add the one big thing to all the previous little things. Quit the little things. Obviously, if you have daily responsibilities that can NOT go undone, do them. But other things, like my writing, marketing, etc, can wait. I just finished my third week of school, and I’m finally able to add my writing back in a comfortable manner. I have had to give up some of my previous activities, at least with the same intensity as I did them before, but I have been able to juggle them.

This also explains my long absence from blogging – sorry.

But remember, in the future, if you’re adding something big to your schedule all at once, don’t think you can just do that with the rest of the items on your list not moving. They will probably get moved, but it’s a whole lot easier to change a bunch of little things then one big one. And before you know it, hopefully at least, you’ll be able to slowly add some of those items back in until you’re doing more than you ever were before.

