#4-Their accent. Yes, I like it. It’s comforting, but it’s not the #1 reason, so I’m OK with that.

#3-The differing culture with the same language. I love watching about other cultures. They’re very interesting, but subtitles or guessing is not as enjoyable as the same language. I believe this is one of the main reasons a lot of Americans first start getting into BBC, because they’re able to explore another world with enough similarities to make it like a parallel universe.

#2-There is better TV as opposed to nothing but reality TV or zombies or other such programmes (pun intended).

#1-They base their choice of actors on talent, not bra size/washboard quality or the willingness to display said body parts at all available opportunities. This in an of itself is enough for many, but it has a result that makes it #1 for me. Better acting. Better scripts. Better shows.

Don’t get me wrong. BBC sucks at sci-fi. But they are getting better. With the buyout of Merlin by NBC, Dr Who made a comeback. Its American fan base has allowed it a budget that allows for better quality CGI/etc. Primeval was decent, but held back by the Brit’s sci-fi abilities. I haven’t watch Primeval:A New World yet, so maybe they’re fixed that. BBC just doesn’t have the budget Hollywood does. But that just makes them more impressive imo.

What are your favorite British shows?

